The Lifespan of a Fly


Where’s My Pick-axe?
April 12, 2010, 9:54 AM
Filed under: Generalizations

The time has finally come. It felt like I had so much more time and it just flew past me. Today marks the last week of my period of unemployment. Ok, so I’m not actually unemployed, I do have a job which I work at a few days out of the week. I’m what they politely term as a “fulltime student”, which means that my unemployment is only partial. Unlike every other student I’ve spoken to, who are literally jittering in their seats with anticipation of the summer break, I am pretty bummed out about it.

That sounds pretty dumb doesn’t it? Well imagine if you’d spent your life doing the things you have to, and then all of a sudden you quit your well-paying, middle class job and start on a new path. A path that promises financial difficulties and a large debt looming over you, that gives a deep guffaw when you look at it over your shoulder. So even though it sounds scary, the path to your dreams is bloody well shiny.

I’ll even miss all the school work. I don’t even like using that term for it, I never considered it work. Manipulating words to do what I want, well for me, that’s like being on vacation everyday. Which is probably why I started this blog. Sure, I’ll miss going to the gym every morning and visiting the bakery on my way home to pick up a warm loaf of french bread. My dogs will miss their lunchtime walks to the nearby cliffs overlooking the North Saskatchewan River. It’s time to say goodbye to full days of wearing nothing but pajamas. Four months of anxiously awaiting the next term, four months until I learn even more about my favorite subject: English, four months till I come back.

I might miss all of my favorite things for the summer, but it’s not goodbye I have to say, only so long. And in the meantime, I get to see some of my favorite people, so I guess it’s not too bad.

Hi-ho, hi-ho, it’s off to work I go.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I totally miss Summer break. If I could go to school forever and get paid for it, I would. School is way better than work. But I’ll be glad to have my lunches with Batman again 😀

Comment by J




Leave a Reply

