The Lifespan of a Fly


Zoomba… More Proof that I can’t dance
June 10, 2010, 10:01 AM
Filed under: Generalizations | Tags: , , , ,

Zoomba is an exercise dance regiment that has been taking the exercise community by storm. If you haven’t heard of it yet, I suggest that you check it out at your local gym or community centre. Cardio and salsa dance have been combined into one hour of heart pumping, sweat inducing madness and I love it. Tonight is my fourth Zoomba class and I can feel (and see, thanks to the large mirror on the wall) that I’m getting a little better. But not by much.

When my mother first suggested that we switch up our exercise regiment by trying out Zoomba. I’ll be honest, I was totally nervous. I love exercise. While in school I spent at least 7 hours a week at the gym and I never felt more energetic than during those times. But Zoomba? That involves dancing right? Have you seen me dance? No? Well picture Elaine from Seinfeld and times it by 100 and that’s how I dance. So apprehensive was a little bit of an understatement when considering Zoomba.

So I agreed. I always say to get out of your comfort zone and try something different. And if there’s anything I hate more than dancing, it’s being a hypocrite. Wow, I was completely surprised. First, I wasn’t the most uncoordinated person in the class. That in itself is a pretty big feat for the girl who immediately broke two ribs during her first ever ski run. Second, I love it!

Now don’t go getting the impression that I’m good at it. I’m not. My 60 year-old instructor has got some moves. Me? Well having the arms do big circles while my legs take me backwards and forth is a little too much for me and often I find myself flying into people and walls. My hips don’t shake very well and I’m pretty sure I look like I’m having an epileptic seizure. Actually, I can confirm that statement. Remember the big mirror?

So anyhow, I suck at Zoomba and I suck at dancing and I suck at anything that requires coordination and moving body parts independently of one another. I suck at hip shaking and I doubt that I’ll be heading to any Latin clubs anything soon to shake my shit.

One thing I don’t suck at? Making a fool of myself and loving every minute of it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

