The Lifespan of a Fly


Love is…
June 16, 2010, 5:15 PM
Filed under: Generalizations | Tags: , , ,

Mike and I. September, 2009 in Jasper, Alberta

There’s a lot of really stupid quotes about love out there. One of them that I really can’t stand is “love means never having to say you’re sorry”. Are you kidding me? If love means anything, it means learning HOW to say you’re sorry. Today is our six-year anniversary and I have learned, and loved, so much from Mike and our daily dealings.

Love doesn’t always mean flowers and picnics. Love doesn’t have to go on fancy dates or eat expensive dinners. Love is something much more than anything tangible. This morning, when I went to take a shower I saw my worst enemy in the summer: an insect. A really creepy one too if I may say so. Terror stricken and willing myself not to let out an ear-splitting shriek at 5:30 in the morning, I wake Mike up with a plea. “Mike,” I said, “there’s a really scary bug on the floor in the bathroom. Please kill it,” and he groggily drags himself out of bed to simply squish the prehistoric-looker bugger for me.

And that’s what got me thinking about what love really is. Love is killing a harmless insect at 5:30 a.m. for your girlfriend. So Mike, thank you.

Thank you for killing scary bugs for me. Thank you for understanding my fear of the crawl-space. Thank you for not laughing (too hard) at me when I scare myself with horror movies and require your presence in the bathroom while I brush my teeth cause I’m scared. Thank you for your support when I decided to go back to school, even though you knew that meant a few years of poverty. Thank you for teaching me to cook even though I’m a vegetarian and you aren’t. Thank you for loving me in spite of my many flaws. Oh, and thank you for sweeping up the peas I just spilled while cooking dinner and writing this blog.

Love isn’t something you buy someone. It isn’t somewhere you go. Love understands, or at least it tries to. Mike, I love you so much and I look forward to a lifetime with you.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

AWWW I love this. You are so cute, haha

Comment by J

I totally agree. Your awsome Tannis. Happy Anniversary!!

Comment by Terrie




Leave a Reply

