The Lifespan of a Fly


The “Fat” Problem
June 21, 2010, 8:26 AM
Filed under: FOOOOOD, Generalizations | Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s getting pretty hard to love yourself nowadays isn’t it? Every day women (and men, don’t think this is all about the ladies) are bombarded with advertisements, medical findings and pure out pressure from friends to LOSE LOSE LOSE… Lose weight that is. Listen here, I am going to eat my cupcakes and I’m going to enjoy them. “But how can you enjoy all this sugar and fat? Aren’t you worried?” You might ask me. No, because it’s all about balance.

Over the weekend a few acquaintances have decided after seeing photos of themselves on Facebook that they’re going to diet. That’s fine. We all need to diet once in a while to cleanse any of that crap out of our bodies. I know that I need to do this after a week of junk food, but do you really need to advertise your body image issues on Facebook? What good could come of this? To have a few dozen friends insist that you’re fine, you look great. Whatever.

We all have things about ourselves we don’t care for. I have (and continue) to struggle with my weight. I may exercise 4 times a week, I may not eat much fast food and follow a vegetarian diet, but I will ALWAYS be a broad-shouldered girl who’s better suited to playing hockey than doing ballet. And guess what? I’m cool with that. Why? Because it’s ALL ….. again ALL… about balance. If you want a big greasy burger I say go for it. If you’re like me, then you might need to enjoy a few meals of rice and steamed vegetables over the next few days. It’s your birthday and you want cake? Enjoy it! The trick is you have to send the rest home with friends… It’s the little things like that, that make living (and eating) a balanced life a lot easier.

And this thing about loving yourself? Try it sometime. Stop looking at yourself in the mirror and thinking you’re fat, or your nose is too big, or your eyes would look better a different colour. What I’m suggesting you do is practice some self-confidence. Do you have more to offer than your looks?

I sure hope so, cause we don’t stay cute forever. Fight that “fat” problem with the “love” solution. There are so many pieces that make us up as people we need to appreciate. The most important thing is not the size of your waist. Oh, and for the record: I love my fat ass.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

