The Lifespan of a Fly


I Once Knew a Man
August 24, 2010, 7:05 AM
Filed under: Generalizations | Tags: , , ,

I once knew a man who had it pretty rough. The last few years took their toll on him, from minor inconveniences like flooding apartments to life changing fiascos. This man once dated a girl, and none of us liked her. Actually, I specifically remember hoping that her dog bit her nose off, and the sentiments were echoed. The man I once knew, well he was pretty sick. He would spend weeks in the hospital fighting a digestive disease. His doctors told him he needed to lay off the fat and he did. He took their advice to heart and lost 40 lbs.

It helped, but not enough. After a few more stays in the hospital, it became apparent he couldn’t work anymore. His high-stress job was taking its toll on his already depleted health. He became one of the “professionally un-employed”. A man, who could no longer work.

Last week, he won the lottery. Seriously. $6,600,000.00 richer, his dreams have come true and his life is secured. His health can replenish itself. He just turned 27.

All I’m saying, is that if you’re a good person, good things happen. As for myself? I couldn’t be happier for my friend!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Good for him!!! Thanks for sharing this story Tannis. It makes you remember that good things happen to good people. Just curious though…. whatever happened to the woman you wished no nose on?

Comment by Monique

Who cares? She’s probably seething.

Comment by tlabine246

Im going to guess that she is just kick’in herself and begging for his forgiveness! I too am soooo darn happy for “this man”. He once made me a certifciate as a joke for all the photocopies I made at work – for that I will always remember him. He is a good man with a good heart and now finally some good luck!

Comment by Terrie




Leave a Reply

