The Lifespan of a Fly


Last Stop For Resolution – Part I
December 2, 2010, 10:11 PM
Filed under: Generalizations | Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Disclaimer: I’m going to try something different over the next few weeks. I don’t have time to blog because of finals, etc. You know, super stress time with little or no sleep. Seriously, I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night, mentally screaming “WHY AM I SLEEPING?!?!?! I have writing to do!!!” So anyhow, I’m posting portions of a short story I wrote a while back. I don’t share much of my fiction, mainly because I’m not even sure how I feel about it. But, I hope you enjoy it, and I promise, give me two weeks and I’ll be complaining again.

Last stop for Resolution – Part I

It was a lazy afternoon in May. The type of afternoon that makes people knock-off work early and enjoy one of the first nice days since the beginning of spring. This is exactly what Nick had in mind that Thursday. He was standing on the train and day dreaming about sitting on his back porch in shorts and drinking a beer while he watched couples and children walking and playing. To his right two young girls were leaned close together whispering and would occasionally burst into an abrupt bray of adolescent giggling. To his left an old man slept, his head leaned against the window, snoring loudly. The old man smelled like alcohol and Nick avoided getting too close to him, as if the man’s drunken stupor might be contagious. Standing beside Nick was a man who looked to be about his own age. He wore a bomber-style leather jacket and dark sunglasses, although they were in a train and were underground.

“Nice day,” the man said. Startled by the seemingly random conversation Nick glanced around to see who the man might be talking to. There weren’t many candidates. Unwilling to be drawn into a conversation with a stranger who wore sunglasses in the dark, Nick nodded his agreement.

“Yup, days like this make you really feel alive don’t they? We spent four months of the year hibernating, avoiding the winter chill and when spring finally comes, well it’s so hard to resist isn’t it?” The man leaned close to Nick while he spoke. No longer could Nick feign polite interest. The cramped quarters of the train forced him to look directly at the strange man. He stared into the depths of the man’s sunglasses and wondered the colour of his eyes.

“Ngh—,” Nick said as the train suddenly screeched and lurched forward. The wheels screamed loudly and he was slammed into the man as the train came to an abrupt halt. Stunned, the passengers of the train looked around them as if they expected that maybe one of them might know what’s going on.

“Is everyone alright?” a voice called and there were general mummers of agreement.

“My friend,” said the man in the sunglasses, “I don’t think I’ve ever been better.”

***

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

