The Lifespan of a Fly


Last Stop for Resolution – Part II
December 3, 2010, 6:34 AM
Filed under: Generalizations | Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

***

“Nick! Nick, please don’t leave me! I’ve done so much for you and now you’re leaving! You’re a bastard! An asshole! A prick! I hate you! I wish you would just die! I can’t believe you’d do this to me! After everything I’ve done for you! All of my sacrifices for what? For you! That’s what!”

Shelley punctuated this last bit by throwing a shoe a Nick’s head. He tried to duck out of the way but was a little too late and the high-performance running shoe smacked him in his left ear.

His ear ringing and throbbing with pain, Nick stole into the bedroom and locked Shelley out in the hallway to pound and shout and in general try to break down the door. He wasn’t even trying to fold his clothes nicely anymore. Frantically, he shoved his suits into his suitcase, ignoring the wrinkles he knew he’d have to get dry-cleaned out. He grabbed a few of his favorite books and he grabbed Molly, his orange tabby cat, the only thing that was truly his in their relationship. The apartment, the furniture, the entertainment, even the food, all of that was Shelley’s. Only Molly belonged to Nick alone.

He unlocked the door and easily pushed past Shelley’s lithe figure. Carrying his bag, and Molly’s kennel, Nick paused at the door. He studied Shelley’s terribly sad face. Her eyes were red and puffy from crying and there were streaks of black running down her cheeks and along her chin. Her long copper coloured hair had come loose from it’s normally perfect updo and she was still wearing her slip, having lost interest in changing when Nick told her that he was moving out, right now. How did I ever think that such a sloppy looking woman was right for me? My father was right all along, I deserve better than some secretary. I am better bred than that. He thought of saying these things to Shelley. Maybe if he did she would empathize with him. Maybe she would understand why he needed to leave. Instead he said:
“Thank you for everything you’ve done for me. I wish you the best.”

He heard her cry of anguish as he shut the door and walked away from the woman who loved him forever.

***

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

